Continuation of Previous post:Sentences structure: Subject, verb, object, etc. A. 3) This piano is heavy. This piano = Subject is = Verb heavy = Complement It was a big problem. it = Subject was = Verb a big problem = Complement The complement can be an adjective (e.g. heavy) or a noun phrase (e.g a big problem) The complement often comes after ‘be’. It can come after ‘appear, become, get, feel, look, seem, stay or sound’. 4) It is on my foot. it = Subject is = Verb on my foot = Adverbial Their house is nearby. Their house = Subject is = Verb nearby = adverbial An adverbial can be a prepositional phrase. (e.g. on my foot) or an adverb (e.g. nearby). It is giving me my backache. It = Subject is giving = Verb me = Object backache = Object Dipesh bought Malini a present. Dipesh = Subject bought = Verb Malini = Object a present = Object We use two objects after verbs like ‘give’ and ‘send’.

from Comprehensive English Grammar http://ift.tt/1nQZ9Bf
via IFTTT

Leave a comment